Rugby World Cup 2019 – how to watch live stream – match schedule

The 2019 Rugby World Cup will be the first edition hosted in Asia. On 28 July 2009, the International Rugby Board announced that Japan will host the 2019 edition – the other choices were Italy and South Africa.

The World Cup will be contested on 12 stadiums across Japan, with the final being held at the International Stadium in Yokohama (72,327).

There’s a total of 20 teams qualified for the Rugby World Cup 2019, each continent having at least one team in the competition. Here’s a breakdown of the qualified teams:


New Zealand

North America

South Africa


South America

The 20 teams were divided into four groups, or pools. The winners of each group (pool) will advance into the quarterfinals, while the Top 3 teams in each group will automatically qualify to the World Cup 2023 in France.

Rugby World Cup 2019 Groups (Pools)

Group (Pool) AGroup (Pool) BGroup (Pool) CGroup (Pool) D
IrelandNew ZealandEnglandAustralia
ScotlandSouth AfricaFranceWales

Rugby World Cup 2019 Live Stream and TV Stations

When it comes to live streaming, there is a free, official streaming service, but it all depends on your geo location. The World Rugby will stream for free to anyone located in the countries where TV rights were not sold.

Click here to see where the Rugby World Cup 2019 will be televised.
TerritoryRights holder
AustraliaFox Sports Network Ten
Czech RepublicPragosport
FijiFiji TV
FranceTF1 Group
GermanyProSiebenSat.1 Media
Hong KongbeIN Sports
IrelandEir Sport RTÉ
JapanJ Sports NHK Nippon TV
Latin AmericaESPN
MENAbeIN Sports
NetherlandsZiggo Sport
New ZealandTVNZ Spark
Pacific IslandsFiji TV
PortugalSport TV
RussiaMatch TV
Southeast AsiabeIN Sports
Sub-Saharan AfricaSuperSport
United KingdomITV S4C
United StatesNBCUniversal

#1 Option for Rugby World Cup 2019 Live Streaming

If you are located on a country where the Rugby World Cup 2019 will not be televised (see list above), you can signup to World Rugby and watch all the matches for free.

Use a VPN to unblock the free live streaming of Rugby World Cup

You can also access the free live streaming provided by World Rugby if you use a VPN and in this case it doesn’t matter where you are located.
Simply signup for a VPN plan and change your location to a country where the event is not sold for TV (see list above).

#2 Option for Rugby World Cup 2019 Live Streaming via ITV (free)

Since the the competition is broadcasted by ITV, you can signup for free (no address or CC needed) to Transponder.TV and get 7 days of ITV for free.

At the end of the trial period, simply use a new email and a new IP and signup for another 7 days free access. You can change your IP address by reseting your modem/router or by using a VPN (recommended).

Rugby World Cup 2019 Match Schedule

20 September 2019
Japan vs Russia (Tokyo Stadium, Chōfu)

21 September 2019
New Zealand vs South Africa (International Stadium Yokohama, Yokohama)
France vs Argentina (Tokyo Stadium, Chōfu)
Australia vs Fiji (Sapporo Dome, Sapporo)

22 September 2019
Ireland vs Scotland (International Stadium Yokohama, Yokohama)
Italy vs Namibia (Hanazono Rugby Stadium, Higashiōsaka)
England vs Tonga (Sapporo Dome, Sapporo)

23 September 2019
Wales vs Georgia (City of Toyota Stadium, Toyota)

24 September 2019
Russia vs Samoa (Kumagaya Rugby Stadium, Kumagaya)

25 September 2019
Fiji vs Uruguay (Kamaishi Recovery Memorial Stadium, Kamaishi)

26 September 2019
Italy vs Canada (Fukuoka Hakatanomori Stadium, Fukuoka)
England vs United States (Kobe Misaki Stadium, Kobe)

28 September 2019
Japan vs Ireland (Shizuoka Stadium Ecopa, Fukuroi)
South Africa vs Namibia (City of Toyota Stadium, Toyota)
Argentina vs Tonga (Hanazono Rugby Stadium, Higashiōsaka)

29 September 2019
Georgia vs Uruguay (Kumagaya Rugby Stadium, Kumagaya)
Australia vs Wales (Tokyo Stadium, Chōfu)

30 September 2019
Scotland vs Samoa (Kobe Misaki Stadium, Kobe)

2 October 2019
New Zealand vs Canada (Oita Stadium, Ōita)
France vs United States (Fukuoka Hakatanomori Stadium, Fukuoka)

3 October 2019
Ireland vs Russia (Kobe Misaki Stadium, Kobe)
Georgia vs Fiji (Hanazono Rugby Stadium, Higashiosaka)

4 October 2019
South Africa vs Italy (Shizuoka Stadium Ecopa, Fukuroi)

5 October 2019
Japan vs Samoa (City of Toyota Stadium, Toyota)
England vs Argentina (Tokyo Stadium, Chōfu)
Australia vs Uruguay (Oita Stadium, Ōita)

6 October 2019
New Zealand vs Namibia (Tokyo Stadium, Chōfu)
France vs Tonga (Kumamoto Stadium, Kumamoto)

8 October 2019
South Africa vs Canada (Kobe Misaki Stadium, Kobe)

9 October 2019
Scotland vs Russia (Shizuoka Stadium Ecopa, Fukuroi)
Argentina vs United States (Kumagaya Rugby Stadium, Kumagaya)
Wales vs Fiji (Oita Stadium, Ōita)

11 October 2019
Australia vs Georgia (Shizuoka Stadium Ecopa, Fukuroi)

12 October 2019
Ireland vs Samoa (Fukuoka Hakatanomori Stadium, Fukuoka)
New Zealand vs Italy (City of Toyota Stadium, Toyota)
England vs France (International Stadium Yokohama, Yokohama)

13 October 2019
Japan vs Scotland (International Stadium Yokohama, Yokohama)
Namibia vs Canada (Kamaishi Recovery Memorial Stadium, Kamaishi)
United States vs Tonga (Hanazono Rugby Stadium, Higashiōsaka)
Wales vs Uruguay (Kumamoto Stadium, Kumamoto)